F-1 team list

BMW’s takeover of the Sauber Formula One team adds another manufacturerowned team to the championship lineup.

Ferrari: Based in Maranello, Italy, and owned by Italian car giant Fiat .

BAR: British-based, owned 55 percent by British American Tobacco and 45 percent by Japanese carmaker Honda.

Renault: Wholly owned by Renault. Team headquarters in England, engines made in France.

Williams: Based in England, a wholly independent team owned by Frank Williams and Patrick Head with income largely derived from sponsorship. BMW-powered this year.

McLaren: DaimlerChrysler own 40 percent, with 30 percent held by team boss Ron Dennis and TAG’s Mansour Ojjeh respectively. British-based.

Sauber: Swiss-based team run by founder Peter Sauber. Main sponsor is Credit Suisse. Malaysian oil company Petronas pays for Ferrari engines.

Red Bull: Formerly Jaguar, bought from Ford by Austrian energy drink billionaire Dietrich Mateschitz in November 2004. Factory is in Britain. Powered by Cosworth this season, Ferrari engines from 2006.

Toyota: Wholly owned by Japanese car giant, based in Cologne, Germany.

Jordan: Bought by Russian-born Canadian billionaire Alexander Shnaider in January and will be renamed Midland next year. Powered by Toyota.

Minardi: Owned by Australian aviation entrepreneur Paul Stoddart, smallest budget of any team with no principal sponsor. Powered by Cosworth